Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Other WA Awards

​​Young Australian of the Year 2013

Australia Day Council  logoAustralia Day Cou​ncil of Western Australia awards programs

A national program that recognises individuals who make an outstanding contribution to the wellbeing of the nation, the Australian of the Year Award was introduced in 1960.

Any Australian can nominate someone who they feel has inspired or challenged us to participate more fully in the life of the nation to make a better and more vibrant Australia. Nominees are shortlisted and the award recipients are selected by a panel of judges. The awards are presented by the Governor

and Premier of WA at an awards ceremony in November each year.

Awards are presented in four categories:

  • Australian of the Year
  • Senior Australian of the Year (over 60 years)
  • Young Australian of the Year (under 30 years)
  • Local Hero.

The recipients of the Australian of the Year Awards (WA) then progress to become national finalists and are considered along with recipients from all other States and Territories for the national award. The national recipients are announced by the Prime Minister in Canberra on the eve of Australia Day each year.

For Award details and how to get involved in Australia Day celebrations visit

Australia​ Day WA Community Citizen of the Year Awards

The Australia Day WA Citizen of the Year Awards are presented on Australia Day by Local Government authorities within local communities across Western Australia. The Patron of the Citizen of the Year Awards is Her Excellency the Governor of Western Australia.

The awards celebrate and recognise individuals and organisations who have made a notable contribution during the year, and/or to those who have given outstanding service over a number of years.

Awards are presented in four categories:

  • Citizen of the Year
  • Citizen of the Year—Youth
  • Citizen of the Year—Senior
  • Award for Active Citizenship

Outstanding contributions and community service include areas such as: education, health, fundraising, charitable and voluntary services, business, sport, arts, the environment or any other area that contributes to the advancement and wellbeing of a community.

For further details visit

Celebrate WA logoWestern Australian of the Year Awards

The Western Australian of the Year Awards recognise the highest level of contribution made to Western Australia by those born or raised in WA, or those who have chosen to make Western Australia their home.

The Western Australian of the Year is selected from the winners of the individual categories. The winner is automatically submitted into the Australian of the Year Awards, managed by The Australia Day Council.

The Western Australian of the Year awards are managed by Celebrate WA, and were first presented in 1973 by Celebrate WA's predecessor, the Western Australia Week Council. Celebrate WA is a leadership organisation that has applauded and recognised outstanding Western Australians for 40 years.

For further details visit