WESTERN AUSTRALIAN MULTICULTURAL **AWARDS 2022**

OMI.WA.GOV.AU



Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries

Message from the Minister

Welcome to the Western Australian Multicultural Awards 2022 presentation ceremony.

The Western Australian Multicultural Awards are an opportunity to shine a spotlight on the extensive achievements of our culturally and linguistically diverse communities and all those working towards a more inclusive and equitable Western Australia.

The categories of awards this year mean that Western Australians in all walks of life—from those involved in the arts, sport or the community, to those working in local government, community services and human rights—have an opportunity to be recognised for their dedication and excellence. The Western Australian Government values this State's rich diversity of culture, language and heritage; the Western Australian Multicultural Awards are part of our commitment to celebrate and promote this diversity.

Congratulations to all the award winners and nominees!



Hon Dr Tony Buti MLA, Minister for Citizenship and Multicultural Interests



WESTERN AUSTRALIAN MULTICULTURAL AWARDS 2022

Event proceedings

ЛС	Helene Hoi-Ying Fung	Awards wi
Velcome to Country	Sandra Harben	• Outst
Address	Hon Dr Tony Buti MLA, Minister for Citizenship and Multicultural Interests	YouthComrComr
lwards	Anna Sorensen	LocalArts J
intertainment	Sino Swing	• Arts - • Sport
Photographer	Daniel Grant	• Prem
		• Sir Ro
		• Laksi

This event implements COVID-safe principles. The awards are live-streamed from The Ritz-Carlton Perth.

WESTERN AUSTRALIAN MULTICULTURAL AWARDS 2022

vill be presented across the following categories:

- standing Individual Achievement Award
- th Award
- nmunity Organisation Award-CaLD
- nmunity Organisation Award-General
- al Government Award
- s Award
- rtsperson of the Year Award
- mier's Community Response and Recovery Award
- Ronald Wilson Leadership Award
- siri Jayasuriya Lifetime Community Service Award

Our nominees

Individuals

Mr Nicholas (Nick) Agocs OAMMr Mark AjeroMs Zahra Al HilalyMr Surya AmbatiMrs Susan Nkechi AnopuemeMs Juliana AreiasMs Rika AsaokaMs Reka Anastasia BaloghMs Karla BenitezDr Carla BoehlMr Peter BolDr Elisabete da Cunha

Ms Janeese de Abreu Lourenco

Mr Lueth Dengdit Ms Betty Desalegn Mr Jay Emmanuel Ms Tanya Finnie Mr Supriya Guha Ms Anna Harrison Ms Karen Huang Dr Casty Nyaga Hughes Mr Radheya Jegatheya Dr Rateb Ineid Mr Santhosh Karimpuza Ms Sukhiit Kaur Khalsa Ms Thea Kurniawan Ms Lisa Li Mrs Catia Malaguias Mr Hayden Marchetto Dr Lesa Melnyczuk Morgan Mr Jawid Ahmad Musawer Mrs Misun (Michelle) Oh

Ms Zareena Oureshi Mr Suresh Rajan Mr Sese Rashidi Mrs Marisa Schiavi Ms Prina Shah Dr Vidhu Sharma Mr Balwinder Singh Mr Manveer Singh Mr Enzo Sirna AM Mr Rama Somasunderam Dr Carolyn Tan Mr Utsay Thapaliya Mr Prashant Tupe Ms Christina Ward Dr Robert Wood Dr Bernadette Wright Mr Salim Youssef Ms Jean Zhang

Our nominees

Organisations

Abigail Mamas Inc

Association for Services to Torture and Trauma Survivors (ASeTTS)

Australian Arab Association Inc

Australian Red Cross

BAPS Swaminarayan Sanstha

Baptistcare Graceford

Broken Crayons Still Colour Foundation

City of Canning

City of Gosnells

City of Stirling

Centre for Asylum Seekers Refugees and Detainees (CARAD)

Cockburn Chinese Community Association

Edmund Rice Centre WA

Football West

Hyogo Prefectural Government Cultural Centre

Indian Society of Western Australia

Malayalee Association of Western Aust

Mandurah Filipino-Australian Multiculi Community Inc

Marble Bar Primary School

Metropolitan Migrant Resource Centre

Midwest Multicultural Association Inc

Multicultural Drama Dance

Multicultural Futures

Multicultural Services Centre of Western Australia

Neighbourhood Watch Chinese Group

Northern Suburbs Community Legal Ce

Nri Rising Club Inc WA

Pakistanis in Australia

Peel Multicultural Association Inc

WESTERN AUSTRALIAN MULTICULTURAL AWARDS 2022

	Polish Dance Group Kukuleczka Inc
	Portuguese Australian Women's Association
	RedHead Communications
	Roots TV
stralia Itural	Royal Life Saving WA
	Shire of Plantagenet
	Sikh Gurdwara Perth Inc
	South Sudanese Community of Western Australia
e C	Spearwood Dalmatinac Sport and Community Club Inc
	Team Connect
	Umbrella Multicultural Community Care Services
	United in Diversity WA Inc
Inc	Valluvan Tamil School
entre	Volleyball WA
	Wattandee Litttlewell Aboriginal Corporation
	Women's Health and Family Services

Thank you to our judges

and dedication to our multicultural community.

The judges of the 2022 Western Australian Multicultural Awards have played a vital and difficult role in selecting award winners. Many thanks go to the judges for their voluntary work

Mr Abdullah Khan



Ms Pearl Proud



Dr Shamim Samani



Dr John Byrne AM The Western Australian Multicultural Awards provide an invaluable opportunity for us to acknowledge and celebrate the achievements of Western Australians who have accomplished outstanding work in advancing multiculturalism, inclusion and equity.

FOR MORE INFORMATION GO TO omi.wa.gov.au



Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries Office of Multicultural Interests

GPO Box 8349 Perth Business Centre WA 6849 Phone: (08) 6552 1607 Email: harmony@omi.wa.gov.au

OMI.WA.GOV.AU